Capping off a fantastic week off in Maine – I went from sheer jubilation and bliss to sort of a downer night/day and I thought this quote was particularly appropriate because, life is truly all about making lemonade out of lemons, isn’t it?! Without further ado

“The happiest people don’t have the best of everything, they just make the best of everything they have.”

This is one of my mantras and I try to seer this into my brain as much as possible – because it’s not about having EVERYTHING – love, money, career etc., all going well simultaneously necessarily – it’s about making the best out of what you have, and what is going WELL in your life, to balance out what may not be going so well.

So, as you know, I had a fantastic vacation with my family and got to just think, relax, and BE, largely uninterupted in sheer bliss for much of the week. Then, coming home yesterday, I was excited at the prospect of a date (date #2 with match.com boy #1 – seeing if there was any chemistry), but promptly got stood up! Still haven’t heard from him! So, I got a little bummed out, and felt lonely, since I’d been around people all week, and suddenly, was alone, date-less. But, I did my best to pull myself out of the mini-funk, and watched “Definitely, Maybe” – great movie (and Ryan Reynolds makes being divorced pretty darn attractive if you ask me – LOL) with a glass of wine (and went spinning, got rid of some of that annoyance too!). I was still sort of in a funk today – maybe it was the vaca wind-down sadness – but took the time to read, cuddle with my kitties, and get my hair cut, and feel much better (and cuter LOL) :)

And tonight? Girls night out – hitting another restaurant for Restaurant Week here in Boston, and for drinks with a couple of friends. Guaranteed to be a good time :)  So my advice to myself, and to anyone else out there who’s feeling in the dumps – make the best of what you have, and the rest will catch up. Be happy – no sense being down all the time, IMHO!

Cheers!

