I just finished reading “Your Best Life Now” and came away with a mindset shift, above all else, because that really is what living your best life now is all about – changing your habits – emotionally and spiritually – and realizing that we need to live for today, not for tomorrow, next week, next month or next year. We need to stay close to God, cherish our blessings and “pay it forward” to those around us.

The last chapter in the book is called “Happiness is a choice” and it couldn’t have resonated any more than reading this chapter! Though it sounds easy enough, to decide to be happy, it’s really a lot easier said than done. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve fallen into the negativity/unhappiness/angry/grumpy trap, and have seen those around me fall into it as well.

Here’s a quick excerpt I particularly liked: “Many people live in constant turmoil. They’re always upset, frustrated, having some kind of major challenge that’s keeping them from being happy. They can’t sleep at night, they’re too worried, they don’t like the people they work with, they get aggravated over the smallest things. When something doesn’t go their way, they get bent out of shape and lose their cool. It’s important that we know how to live a life of peace. If we’re going to do that, we need to be flexible and willing to make some adjustments. When things happen that normally would bother us, we have to put a foot down and say, no, I’m not going to let that take away my peace, I am going to rule over my emotions and I’m not going to allow myself to get upset and aggravated. I’m going to choose to be happy.”

It’s so true! How easy is to to let the little things at work perturbe you and let it fester all day until you are just grumpy to no end? Or frustratation with something turns to anger and sours your mood? Happens all the time and we end up in a cycle of “can’t waiting…” for the weekend, for this project to be over, to be happy again, or whatever the case may be. This is a huge reminder to me that life IS short, and we really need to find the little things in our day to be happy about, to realize why we are here doing what we are doing, and not float through life unhappy. It is easier said than done, but I’m a big fan of one day at a time, one step at a time and know I can change my bad habits into good ones. How about you?

