Though my post yesterday was a bit down in the dumps, I was able to pull myself out of it later in the day – part of writing the post itself was therapeutic as I got it out of my system and in re-reading my post, realized that it’s true, God doesn’t give you more than you can handle, so I just need to really believe that and understand it, reminding myself daily if I have to.

On another note, I watched a wonderful episode of Joel Osteen’s sermons last night around the idea that we need to truly value our time here, day by day, and use our energy for the positive, and not dwell on the negative. This is one of the many reasons I like Joel’s sermons so much – they really speak to me and put things in a completely different perspective. Here is a blurb from the sermon:

“Each day we have the same amount of time to use. If we use our emotional energy for the wrong purposes, focused on the negative, dwelling on who hurt us, we’re not going to have the energy we need for the right purposes. We’re not going to make the best decisions. We’re not going to be as creative with our gifts, and our talents won’t come out to the full. Part of living purposeful is to keep offenses, bitterness and grudges from robbing our energy. Like the sun shines brightly each day, that is how we ought to be; we shouldn’t let anything block our light. With this gift of life comes a responsibility to develop our talents, to pursue our God-given goals, to become everything that He has created us to be. On a regular basis, reevaluate what you’re doing and how you’re spending your time. Refocus your life. Let go of any distractions. Shake off any self-pity, any discouragement, any disappointments and run your race with purpose. If you’ll run with purpose in every step, accepting and appreciating the gift today, then you are redeeming your time, and when you come to the end of your days, you’ll be able to say, “I have no regrets. I have spent my life well.”

So, as I sit here at work, feeling a massive case of the grumpies, I’m really trying to “let go of distractions,” and “shake off self-pity and discouragement,” I am trying to embrace each day so I don’t have any regrets. To anyone reading – take these words to heart and do the same – I see all too often how easy it is for me to fall into this trap and the more I remind myself of the good, the bad seems so much less important.

Off my soapbox for today 🙂

