I came across a great blog post from the Life After Divorce blog on “7 ways to rediscover your true passion after divorce.” One of the ways is to discover what makes your heart “sing:”

What really matters to you? What do you feel is your true purpose in life? If someone asked you that question, how would you answer them?

Why is it so important to be clear on what your life’s purpose is? Knowing your purpose, will give you a true sense of who you are and why you were put on this earth. It gives your life direction and helps you make clear and easy decisions concerning that direction. It’s your compass! Without a purpose, can your life be compared to a piece of driftwood? Floating endlessly in whichever direction the tide decides to take it and ending up on any beach with no will of its’ own. When you live your life based on your purpose you are living in integrity with yourself and are in alignment of who you really are in all aspects of your life – body, mind and spirit. Take this time to focus on what really matters to you. Feel the true passions that exist in your heart and write them down.

Funny, if I were asked what makes my heart sing when I was with Pete, I would have probably said Pete. And that’s it. I think I might have been a little too focused on our relationship being the one thing that makes me happy – sort of similar to what Snarkbutt Divorced said  – you can’t get it all from one person – and it’s so true. You CAN but you shouldn’t. And I’m learning that – because what makes my heart sing is my family. It’s my close friends. It’s my faith. It’s the little things – the smell of the lake in Maine, the sounds of peepers chirping during warm summer nights, laying on the couch with a great book and a quilt – the list goes on and on 😉

The fact that I can feel my heart sing again makes me happy, because at my darkest moments this winter, I couldn’t even look at pictures of myself that I’d taken during girls nights and family gatherings. Why? Because I lost my spark, my eyes didn’t sparkle and my heart certainly did not sing. It wept. And it’s singing now and my eyes are starting to sparkle, and I’m coming out of the darkness.

