Happy Friday everyone – and oh what a week it has been. Fair share of ups and downs. With that in mind, here’s a snippet of a poem I choose to quote today:

And all you have to do to win is rise each time you fall.
And when depression and despair shout loudly in my face,

another voice within me says, “Get up and win that race!”

For all of life is like that race, with ups and downs and all.

Today everything sort of hit me and I had a couple of rough patches. The weight of the house issue heavy on my shoulders came to a head as we made the difficult decision that our only option is to sell the house, likely at a loss (short sale) because we are ineligible for a refinance. All of the stress came rushing out of me, and I got upset and wanted to crawl into a hole. But this poem has some really thoughtful elements to it, life is a race (though not to let it pass you by!) and you have to keep going, keep trying, and don’t ever let yourself give in to failure. This poem reminds me to stay strong.

And, a devotion from Joel Osteen also really struck me today (folks, you are getting a two-fer in the quote department today!):

Did you know that the way you handle your adversities has a huge impact on your success in life? If you shrink back, choose to get bitter, and lose your enthusiasm, then you are allowing the difficulties of life to bury you. You are allowing hardship to keep you from your God–given destiny. But if you choose to keep pressing forward with a smile on your face, rejoicing even in the hard times, you are allowing God´s character to be developed inside of you. You are setting yourself up for promotion.

So, after reading both of these today, I reflected on my frustrations and stresses and you know what? It STILL could be worse, because beyond “the situation,” my life really isn’t too shabby…I have some really special friends and the most supportive family in the world, what more can I ask for (besides CSB of course…LOL!). So, I am feeling better, and hopeful things will turn out ok. Cheers.

