Had an interesting conversation with Pete today – he somehow figured out the correlation between how often I spin and the fact that there is a cute boy at class (which is why I go – well not the whole reason, I do love spinning!) and we got to talking. Of course, he grilled me on who this guy was and if I had asked him out (sort of playfully, which was fine with me) and I ribbed him back, noting the nice muscles CSB has (hey, I have a right, right?!) and then I asked him if he had any crushes. Long story short – he’s been on dates – a couple with one chick he met in a bar, and he also has a crush on a girl he works with. What surprised me was that he hadn’t told me yet, since we both said we’d be open about it (he claimed he didn’t know how to bring it up) and what bothered me? That he beat me to it! NOT that he had gone on dates and therefore had “moved on” since um, I clearly have too. It was that he beat me to the punch! A funny relevation in a way, and it shouldn’t bother me, but it does, I’ll admit it. Just a smidge.

A fab friend of mine put it this way:

IT’S HUMAN NATURE TO BE COMPETITIVE THAT WAY… YOU ARE RIGHT, IT’S NOT A RACE, BUT IT MAKES YOU FEEL BETTER WHEN YOU ARE FIRST! BUT AT THE SAME TIME IT ALSO SAYS THAT HE ISN’T GOOD WITH BEING ALONE AND FINDING HIMSELF, AND YOU ARE TOTALLY STRONGER, AND CAN BE ALONE! SO THINK OF IT THAT WAY! AND OBVIOUSLY THE FACT THAT YOU ARE INTERESTED IN SOMEONE ELSE, AND NOT PINING OVER PETE SHOWS HIM HOW MATURE AND OVER IT, YOU ARE!

So smart she is, isn’t she? So, I had to give her props here (namelessly of course, you know who you are!! Mwah!) because it’s so true and it totally put it into perspective…now, on to asking CSB out…or at least being a little more forward than I have. Done with baby steps, how about just “steps” – not leaps, but steps is good, right? 😉

