Happy Quote Friday everyone! This week’s quote is “borrowed” from a great friend of mine – she recently blogged about this quote and I absolutely fell in love with it. An excerpt of the quote:

“The knowledge that you have emerged wiser and stronger from setbacks means that you are, ever after, secure in your ability to survive. You will never truly know yourself, or the strength of your relationships, until both have been tested by adversity. Such knowledge is a true gift…”

Life has thrown a lot of obstacles at me over the last seven months, and I feel as though now, more than ever, I feel closer to God and closer to MYSELF and feel stronger and as though I can conquer any other setbacks that come my way throughout this situation. It’s funny, because I was cleaning out some old emails at work today, and found a few emails from one of my sisters and a few of my friends – their reactions to my impending divorce and the outpouring of support, and that sorrow and pain and angst came flooding back, and I know I never want to feel that way again, and I am confident that if I ever have to go through something as painful, I will feel stronger and more resilient.

Another excerpt from my friend’s blog – Life by the Day – is absolutely true (and if you knew this person – she’s gone through a LOT, so this says a lot about her strength and resilience as well – so proud!!):

Reading something like this reminds me to remember (and believe) that God never gives us more than we can handle. Life isn’t always easy, there are up and downs around every corner, but step by step, we’ll get through them, and be stronger for it.

I believe in myself, for probably the first time in a long time (as somewhat sad as that sounds), and am hopeful for the future, both near-term (bring on summer!) and long-term (post-divorce, dating, LIFE!) and thank everyone for all of their support so far, it has meant more than you could know.


