Every hear a song on the radio and then REALLY listen to the words? I did that this past weekend with Nickelback’s “If Today Was Your Last Day” and decided to look up the lyrics – they’re pretty powerful. On a day like today – coming off a fabulous weekend, where I squeezed every last second out of it – and I come back to work feeling mentally bored and sick of my job and wishing I was outside, I caught myself in the trap of “can’t waiting [insert anything non-work-related here]” – this “can’t wait” was for my vacation next week, but as I have posted before, and as I keep reminding myself – life is too short to just “phone it in” when you don’t feel inspired or all that happy with what you are doing.

Some of my favorite lyrics in this song:

If today was your last day
And tomorrow was too late
Could you say goodbye to yesterday?
Would you live each moment like your last?
Leave old pictures in the past
Donate every dime you have?
If today was your last day

Against the grain should be a way of life
What’s worth the prize is always worth the fight
Every second counts ’cause there’s no second try
So live like you’ll never live it twice
Don’t take the free ride in your own life

So do whatever it takes
‘Cause you can’t rewind a moment in this life
Let nothin’ stand in your way
Cause the hands of time are never on your side

Pretty good stuff, right? I also think this particularly pertains to “what if-ing” life – I could what-if my marriage over and over again, until I am blue in the face – but you can’t rewind life, so beyond learning from the past, there’s no sense wishing you had done something differently (except to maybe do it differently the next time around) or living in the past. My two cents for tonight.

