through the rough patches, like, oh, divorce. I feel so hugged by my friends lately (and family, as always), it’s such a good feeling to have so much support, I can’t even express it. What I find so interesting – from those that follow my blog, to those that just see the changes in me generally – is exactly that – the changes they see in me that maybe I don’t even see myself.

For example, I hadn’t really notice, but apparently, I seem more confident, even in the past few weeks since my dating sagas have begun. I never noticed it, to be honest, but I’ve gotten several comments from friends and family, so I guess maybe it’s true 😉 And, I am having an absolute blast going out and trying new places with friends (tried a few fun spots with BSF this weekend, and heading out tonight to try another fun place!) and on dates. It’s amazing how I feel as though I have lived under a rock somewhat, over the years. Definitely worked myself into a rut social-life-wise and never realized it over the past 10 years.

And, I was reading a very interesting read on the painful journey of divorce, I realize how far I have come, and how I never want to go back to that dark place. Some points in this article hit home so closely:

If you are divorcing, you may feel as though you have moved to a foreign country where you don’t speak the language. You’re not a citizen but an alien. You were part of a couple, part of an extended family, part of a couples community. Now, you are suddenly none of those things. You have lost not only a relationship but also a significant portion of your larger social identity. The changes that occur during the divorce process can shake your confidence at a time when you need it most.

I felt ALL of these things – like I stuck out like a sore thumb, lost in my own world of un-couple-dom in a sea  of marrieds and couples, to completely alone. But now, I feel absolutely none of these things and completely opposite. I love being alone – when would I EVER have said that before? I am really enjoying dating and meeting new people and being open. When would I have ever thought I’d WANT or LIKE to date?! I look back now and never want to go back – to the pain, yes, but not even to who I was. I actually feel like my eyes are wide open for the first time, and I am enjoying all that life has to give (or throw at!) me.

How’s that for a rambling, lovefest of a post? 😉

