Well, it’s been a week since D-Day…already feels like somewhat of a blur, and way longer than week, oddly. And, it’s been one hell of a week, I’m thankful that it is coming to an end! This quote Friday, I’ve opted for a quote “of the future” if you will – something that I strive for in my next relationship. This quote comes from the late Patrick Swayze...an almost-heartbreaking quote from him describing his 30+ year marriage to his wife – something we should all strive for:

“A relationship survives because of keeping the friendship alive and learning how to fall in love over and over again and never taking the other person for granted and seeing things in a new light with new eyes”

I can’t say enough how much I love this quote…yet it makes me slightly nostalgic as I thought I had this with Pete. Now, looking back, perhaps I didn’t (well, clearly I didn’t!!) have that, but it is something I strive for in whatever future long-term relationship I have…that level of friendship/love/chemistry and solid understanding, appreciation and respect two people should feel for one another. I know I’ll have it, one day, and until then, I’m content with good friends, some one-off dating (that, who knows, COULD at some point turn into more, if I can ever get past the date #2 curse!), and enjoying the next phase of my life.

Cheers…and rest in peace Patrick Swayze. You were a good man.

