I feel as though I have been climbing a mountain for the past (almost) year, climbing, climbing, teetering on rocks, and cliffs, and still climbing, falling down, dusting myself off, and climbing some more. This week feels as though it is the culmination of my “hike,” my journey to victory, starting from the depths of sadness, angst, confusion and fear. And now, I finally feel like I am on the cusp of the mountain I never knew I could climb.

With that in mind, here is the quote I’ve chosen for today’s quote Friday

“Follow your own shining star. Keep to the path you have chosen. Believe in yourself. And dream until your dreams come true.”

What I didn’t really realize throughout this journey is that I’ve been on a path, a very set path, looking for my star (finding it) and following it. It’s taken a lot of believing in myself, and trusting in God that this day will come, and I finally, FINALLY feel as though my path is now clear. Clear of brush, clear of darkness, and clear of obstacles. Sure, there will be more brush, darkness and obstacles, but I’ve come through the toughest part, so far, in my life, and I can only hope that I am now climbing back down that mountain.

I feel so unbelievably proud of myself and how far I have come. I am sitting in MY dining room, in MY townhouse. I’m happy, I’m not afraid, and I am completely content being home alone on a Friday night with a glass of wine and my cats (something I would have HATED the thought of a year ago!). Pete and I are in a really good place together as friends. The dating thing – it’s coming along, and though it will have its bumps, I’m SO glad I’m doing it – it’s taking me out of my comfort zone, and that’s what I need! My sisters, my family, my friends – they’re the best and make me feel loved every single day.

So, I’m feeling good, following that star, keeping on the path to victory, and believing in myself, knowing that I can do it – whatever it is – and come out strong. Can I get a cheers to that?!

