…why does it feel harder than rocket science (not that I uh, claim to understand rocket science either!!)? Are there some unwritten rules that I just don’t know about?! It feels hard not to overthink, overanalyze and overthink some more, even though it should be (and mostly IS) fun.

Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying every minute of it, but I am finding that I’m not used to being a “go with the flow” kind of woman, I like to know the next step, the next date, the next everything, and it’s not really that simple. Dating someone new – even just one or two dates – you don’t know their quirks, their gestures, their moods, their “MO” if you will – and sure, that’s part of the fun of it, but it’s also a huge part of the challenge!!

So, with that context in mind – boy #7…is on my mind. I’m probably overthinking a bit, but I am hoping to see him again soon, but my schedule is pretty tight leading into my birthday bonanza weekend/week leading into my trip to Sonoma, that the days I am free are limited, and (and this is just me being ME) I just want those days to also work for him, and they may not, and I may not see him til after my trip, which would be two weeks since date #2. And I guess that’s okay, but I’m impatient, and a small part of me worries that maybe he doesn’t want a date #3, even though we’ve chatted several times since date #2, texted a bit as well, and he seems interested in getting together again. It’s that nagging 2% “what-if” in my head that is driving me crazy! And what’s driving me MORE crazy is that I’m devoting this much overanalyzing to it anyway, because I need to remind myself that this is supposed to be fun, and there will be a lot of non-starters and not every date with lead somewhere (clearly!!). And I know that, but I still wish there were some rules, that would make things feel more structured (and I like structure!.

Wow, I really needed to get that off my chest – clearly! So, I’m taking tonight to reset my mindset and shake it off, have fun with it, and have FUN generally, because I got a whole lotta fun coming up in the next week or so and I’m going to revel in it!

~~~

My final SinceMyDivorce interview segment has posted – and, yet again, it’s perfectly timed to my thoughts tonight – the dating scene!! Check out the post, and a quick excerpt:

However, I’m not putting any expectations around it or expecting to find the next one. I think that’s helping me keep it to more of a fun thing – a new experience instead of getting down by dates not going well.

Um hello, I SAID THIS, so I need to believe in it, and abide by it! Shame on me 😉

