Sometimes coincidences are so uncanny I just have to mention them.

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, as my divorce is official and I’m nearing the one year mark since “the situation” started, I’ve been thinking a lot about how to evolve and develop my blog from here, as part of that. Then I read Snarkbutt Divorced blog today, and the coincidence was uncanny!

A spot-on excerpt:

A few weeks ago, at the end of a long post, I brought up the issue of whether this blog is good for me:

Sometimes I think this blog is holding me back. I can’t “get over” the divorce because I keep writing about it. But the thought of giving up the blog terrifies me. It’s the most dependable outlet I have. It’s the only thing I can count on, 24/7. I never feel like I’m bothering it, and it never puts any demands on me. It never lets me down. It’s also not a real relationship.
One person suggested to me that I change the focus of the blog. Make it less about divorce and more about getting on with my life after divorce….nut I think that’s what I’m doing. I’m not sure how much this blog actually has to do with my divorce anymore. Sure, Divorce is in the blog title and I mention it a lot. But I don’t know how often I actually deal with divorce issues. Many of my posts mention my marriage or divorce just as a way to tie it back to the overall theme. ..no, I think this blog is less about divorce than it is about my own issues. I like keeping the divorce theme, however, because there is a story here that starts with my divorce. (And ends with…?)

It’s so true – I started my blog as an outlet to grapple with my thoughts and feelings around surviving – and now thriving – divorce, and it’s turned into so much more than that for me. I’ve met some amazing people (“virtually”), I’ve grown a fantastic following (nearing 11K visits!!), I’ve been interviewed for another blog, and I’ve learned a hell of a lot about myself and what I’m capable of.

My blog will continue to evolve – it will still focus on my ever-evolving relationship with Pete post-divorce, dating, life in general, and I’m excited to keep sharing it with anyone that takes the time out of their day to give it a read. Any suggestions on things you’d like to hear about – more than welcome to hear them, so please do share!

~~

We interrupt this blog to share some fantastic news – BSF now has a blog! She’s chronicalling her own dating shenanigans on her blog – This is Why I Date – she just started it, but already, I’m loving it (okay, maybe I’m biased!), but check it out, when you have a minute. She’s fun, witty, and as resilient as ever.

