Coming on the heels of an unbelievable trip to wine country, it’s been an up and down emotional/”thinking” week for me. So, when I came across this quote, it sort of smacked me back into reality of how powerful thoughts are. So, for this quote Friday, here’s my quote:

“We are what our thoughts have made us; so take care about what you think.”

This goes along very closely to a blog post I read by Joel Osteen a few weeks ago and tucked away, focused on speaking and thinking positive words of faith and victory, versus words of defeat and doubt. An excerpt:

One of the most important things we can do to keep ourselves moving in the right direction is to carefully guard what we say. Remember, your words are seeds that produce the harvest of your future. If you go around speaking negative words of doubt and defeat, you are uprooting your harvest of blessing. You are literally speaking against what God wants for your life! But if you’ll stay in agreement with the God of increase, if you’ll declare His Word over your future, then you are setting yourself up to receive the victory and blessing He has in store for you.

I think this sentiment, along with today’s quote, speak volumes to how amazingly powerful our thoughts and emotions are over our mind and our actions. I’ve been doing a little backtracking this week, feeling a little sorry for myself in the dating department, and I know part of that can also be attributed to the fact that at this moment, three years ago, I was in Kauai, getting ready to get married (our would-be three year anniversary is next Wednesday, October 21), and that’s been sticking in my head for a bit, dragging me down, when it really shouldn’t be. It shouldn’t be, because I am at peace with being divorced, I am genuinely happy with where my life is at this moment, at 30, on my own, successfully out of my (sold!) home, in a good cadence with Pete, and continually close with a handful of amazing friends. I really don’t have anything to be sad about, so I’m going to do my damnest to “take care about what I think” because our thoughts really DO make us.

Happy Friday everyone. I’m looking forward to a fantastic one – interspersed with some evening plans and a whole lot of catching up and much-needed relaxing to do, after a crazy 6-8 weeks!

***

By the way, I just HAVE to give props to BSF’s This is Why I Date post today – I almost literally laughed out loud reading the breakup cliches, all of which I too have heard a million times (and agree with some of them, and love my friends, some of whom have uttered these – but all good!!)

