Okay, I’m totally going to sound like a hypocrite based on my post last night, to today’s post. Buuuut, this IS good advice! I just came across an article (originally in Glamour) on dating advice from Michelle Obama. Now, while I may not agree with a lot of what the Obama administration is doing, I really DO like the advice (also posted to one of my fave new blogs to follow – Sex, Lies, and Dating in the City):

“Cute’s good. But cute only lasts for so long, and then it’s, Who are you as a person? That’s the advice I would give to women: Don’t look at the bankbook or the title. Look at the heart. Look at the soul. Look at how the guy treats his mother and what he says about women. How he acts with children he doesn’t know. And, more important, how does he treat you? When you’re dating a man, you should always feel good. You should never feel less than. You should never doubt yourself. You shouldn’t be in a relationship with somebody who doesn’t make you completely happy and make you feel whole. And if you’re in that relationship and you’re dating, then my advice is, don’t get married. [original source: Glamour]

Bottom line – I SHOULD always feel good and valued and respected in a relationship, and that is another one of the things I want in a relationship (see, I’m tying in a few posts from this week…how clever am I?). So, while I do doubt my actions sometimes, or how I work through these first dates and stuff like that, I know that deep down, it’ll happen to me when it’s supposed to, not out of force, or not because I listened to anyone else but myself. I also love the last line of advice – which, sadly, more people do NOT heed – don’t get married if it’s not working already. Plain and simple. Not that I feel I did that, but I know I will NEVER do that (marry when it’s not working anyway), because regret is a horrible, irreversible feeling.

~~

teaser alert…ask me about the Russian tomorrow.

