I know, I know, I’ve been writing a lot about men, and dating lately, but I’m in one in the “starts” phase of the “fits and starts” phase I tend to waver back and forth between, so it gets me thinking. Constantly (remember, I’m an overthinker by nature, after all!).

So, a few topics spring to mind today. First, another question brainy blonde asked me on our date last week:

“do you feel the need to ‘sow your wild oats’ now that you are single after being part of a couple for so long?”

Again, I had to think about that for a minute. I guess I HAVE been “sowing my wild oats” to some extent (at least in my definition of it! Not in terms of going wild, dancing on bar tops, or anything like that – though ‘never say never,’ right?! ha!). I’ve gone on a bunch of dates, I’ve had some fun GNOs, I’ve gone bar-crawling, I’ve hit my “mecca” of wine country, and, more personally, am going out on a limb and trying new things that scare me, but will be a hell of a lot of fun in the process. I’m having fun, I’m challenging myself, and putting myself out there – that’s my definition of “sowing my wild oats” and I’m satisfied with it!

~~~

Second topic of the day…as I head into potential date #2s with boys #9 and 10 (and perhaps boy #8 and/or #4!), I’ve been taking stock in the types of guys that I’ve been drawn to and again realizing, DO I have a type? I don’t really see many similarities between any of the boys I’ve dated so far and it makes me wonder two things – WHY and WHAT – why haven’t I gone after “like”  guys and WHAT am I looking for? I generally know what I want, in a handful of qualities, but looks-wise, and personality-wise, I’m all over the map! I guess I’ll know “it” when I find that mixture of what I want, and maybe I haven’t found it yet (though, one date with these guys really doesn’t tell me enough, probably, either, so I won’t draw a conclusion just yet!). I read a great article on I’m Divorced Not Dead about this very topic:

Sometimes I wonder, is it just me? Do most women HAVE a type of man they like?  Or does every woman have so many colors to her soul that trying to find a match in today’s sea seems overwhelming?

A part of me thinks that at this stage of my life, I should KNOW what I want in a man; or at least, I should be much clearer!

I guess I’m not the only one, and it’s probably VERY normal, but something I have been pondering lately. Guess we’ll see where these next dates go and eventually, I’ll probably have a clearer picture. For now, have fun, see where it goes – that’s my motto!

