Well, this post was *supposed* to go up last night or this morning, but I had it in draft mode, go figure (so, I’ll post two for today because after all, it IS Quote Friday!!)

So, it’s been a long but short three days of travel. Short because three days isn’t really that long, but long because the days and nights were VERY long (the time difference didn’t help matters!). From my earlier post this week on traveling alone for the first time since my “pre-divorce” days, I’ve had some more observations and thoughts. Here goes:

  • I really, really, really relish my alone time. I know I’ve said this before, but it was highly noticable on this trip considering I was with my boss and clients ALL day and ALL night (basically from 7:30 am until the wee hours of the morning). By the time I got back to my hotel, I was exhausted, sure, but just really enjoyed the peace and quiet. I’m a people person, but I’m finding I value that decompression mode of silence much more each and every day.
  • Divorce happens. A lot. Of the 15 or so people in attendance in the meetings I was in (global comms planning meeting with a client of mine, including folks from EMEA, APAC and the US), there were at least three other divorcees (plus another, which I’ll get into in a bit), and one of which is about my age, spunky, fun, cute and so normal. Made me feel like I’m not that alone in being divorced at 30 (and hey, I can call myself cute once in awhile, right? Without sounding ego?? Becuase we all know I am NOT!).
  • I can keep up with the best of them – even if I’m the only woman in the group. At one point during the evening last night, it was me, my boss, my client, and a product marketing guy from my client’s organization. At a bar/club, having some drinks and chatting. Looking back, I would have freaked out in a situation like that – being the only woman with a group of men? Me? Please. I would have clammed up. But I didn’t – I had a great time, I felt comfortable, and realized that I can keep up with the best of them, without feeling like the odd (wo)man out.

One funny tidbit…as mentioned above, there were quite a few divorcees, including one of the product marketing guys (see bullet above). Once he knew I was also recently divorced, we got into chatting, about dating sites, dealing with being single again etc. And, he’s from this area too, and he was definitely flirting, which sort of weirded me out considering he’s a bit older than me (not by THAT much, maybe 6-8 years?), but also because it was almost as if he was flirting because we had THAT in common. Divorce. Or, maybe he just felt comfortable talking about it since he’s still “recovering” from it. It was just weird, but amusing at the same time.

So, there you have it. A few thoughts on the last few days. I had a good time, it wasn’t AS tiring as I thought, I had some great California wine (of course) and now, am looking forward to getting home and kicking off a good weekend ahead.

