Capping off a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday week, I thought the following quote was very fitting for quote Friday:

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” ~Maria Robinson

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, life now as compared to last Thanksgiving is a remarkable juxtaposition. At the time, looking back, I can guarantee you that I wanted to start over, go back to the beginning and make my marriage work, rather than facing divorce from a man I thought was the only man for me in this world.

Yet, now, had we stayed together, I am not sure if it would have lasted till “death do us part” anyway, because eventually, the issues likely would have surfaced…but how much later? What if I was 40? 50? 60? when realizing that my marriage wasn’t as fulfilling as it seemed (or romanticized in my mind, anyway). So I am glad that I CAN make a new ending to my (love) life and have a blast in the meantime, until I find that “just right” fit for me.

And, the life I am building for myself is wonderful, and it’s making me realize that I’m a better, happier, more content person than I ever thought I was before. I think many people are afraid of change – I am CERTAINLY one of them, typically – and starting over is daunting, but the qualities that come out in you, the strength you find, and the new capabilities you develop. I know I tend to write about this topic quite a bit, but I think it’s important to remember that change doesn’t have to be a bad thing, that challenges make you stronger, and that you – and only you – are in charge of your destiny. I see that clearly more than ever now, and feel more empowered to make my “ending” MINE.

Happy Friday everyone!

