is a very hard thing to do.

I’m reminded of it daily, how much confidence it really takes to go it alone – whether it be life, in general, and/or being alone without a spouse/significant other, but I’m also a firm believer in experiences shaping life, and standing on your own as an individual, and being alone/living alone can be life-changing and everyone should have the “opportunity” to experience it at one point or another in life.

This “ephiphany” of sorts came to me this week as a good friend of mine is going through a pretty painful breakup process, and one of her biggest fears is being alone and being on her own. She is one of THE most independent women I know, though, which is the ironic part, and I know she has the strength in her to make the break (opposite case of my personal situation, but similar in that it is ending moreso because of a love turned friendship) and flourish and grow and do all of the things she wants to do in her life.

My sister was giving her some advice about it, when she was first thinking about it, and being scared to be alone and not have “built in” plans with her boyfriend on weekends, and worries about being lonely. My sister told her to look at me, and see how far I have come, and that it’s not as scary as it seems, and you can move forward, happily so, alone, and independent.

The fact that she used me as a reference point felt so rewarding…I’m the one she’s using as the benchmark for “it can be done?” That’s amazing! And, if you knew this friend of mine, you’d be shocked that she would not already see herself as strong and independent. Because she is, it’s innate within her! I’ve always thought that about her, and I know she will come through this and it will be the best thing for her to move forward and see where life takes her.

So, this is for you – you are a hot ticket – and I’m bestowing upon you a new nickname – HSC – hot southern chick! You’re strong, you’re beautiful, you’re WORTH IT, and you can do it. Stay strong.

