Merry Christmas everyone!!! For tonight’s quote Friday, I am sharing the following quote, because it captures today, but also, more generally, a good mindset for me (and all of us) to consider more often…

“We do not remember days, we remember moments.”

Today is a perfect example – specific moments that will be seared in my mind – a fantastic Christmas, a happier Christmas than last year, a Christmas where I was able to spend time with my sisters (we’re usually all spread out with in-laws and such, but we found a way to make it work this year – Christmas mimosas and breakfast!!), quality time with my mom and an afternoon with my grandparents. It was really everything I wanted in today, and I feel content and happy this evening, recounting some of the moments of the day (some funny, some cute, some heartwarming):

  • My gram and I trying in earnest to remember the name of the children’s book where the main character takes everything literally. For example, she made a spongecake out of um, sponges. We racked our brains, and finally, FINALLY, on my drive home with mom, did I remember – Amelia Bedelia!! (my mom promptly called Gram to tell her!)
  • Flipping through the homemade calendars my aunt/uncle/cousin made for my mom and grandparents – complete with awesome pics from this summer (the best summer EVER), and one of the best pictures of my grandparents I have ever seen – they’re in the lake, forehead to forehead, my gram’s arms draped over Gramp’s shoulders, laughing. Priceless.
  • Enjoying to-die-for quiche (made by my sister Jen, the best cook ever!) this morning with mimosas made with my favorite champagne from Sonoma from J. Winery. De-lish.
  • Receiving texts upon texts from my friends wishing me a merry Christmas (and one from boy #9) – made me feel loved!
  • And, an “honorary” mention goes to last night’s Christmas Eve bash at my sister’s house with her in-laws (I’m an honorary member!) where I felt a part of the family, was greeted with hugs and kisses on the cheek, and chatted up throughout the day. It was great!

So , those are just a handful of the moments I remember from today – a simple, yet wonderful way to spend Christmas. I hope you all had a wonderful time with your families as well. And, if this is your first Christmas on your own after a divorce or break-up…please believe me when I say, it DOES get better. Look forward to the year ahead, because it will be amazing, you will grow, you will learn to laugh and smile again, and it will be a whole new world ahead of you.

