2009 – wow, it’s officially over, and while I won’t say “good riddance” even though part of me wants to, I will say, I think 2010 is going to truly be the year of “me” – not the year of divorce, transition, and, to a certain extent, sadness.

2010 is going to be the year I really want to look back on and say I lived without abandon, I “lived like we’re dying” (a la Kris Allen – see lyrics here and audio below – it’s a goodie!!), I continued to grow, and turn over a new chapter in my life. On this quote Friday, I thought the following snippet from this song would totally fit:

Sometimes we fall down and can’t get back up
we’re hiding behind skin that’s too tough
how come we don’t say I love you enough
till it’s to late, it’s not too late

Yeah… gotta start
lookin at the hand of the time we’ve been given here
this is all we got and we gotta start pickin it
every second counts on a clock that’s tickin’
gotta live like we’re dying

Good words to live by, right? And, with that in mind, here are a few of my goals for this year (which I plan to revisit in December). I call them “goals,” since “resolutions” feels so finite.

  1. Continue being uncomfortable. What I mean by this is – STAY out of my comfort zone, and stretch myself. I’m doing this right now with Group Kick, and I know that will play into this goal in 2010 as well, but I find that one of the only ways that I will grow is to BE uncomfortable in what I am doing, as it forces me to grow and build strength and confidence. Whether that be shifting some of my career goals, taking on more training certifications, or something beyond that, this IS my top goal for 2010.
  2. Go on vacation alone. Okay, so this is a bit of a toughie and I may “stretch” this one a bit, but I want to take a trip by myself. I’m already planning to go visit BDF this winter and/or spring, but that isn’t quite “alone” beyond the traveling to and from part. I think it would be awesome to go up to Maine at the lake house and just BE. Read a book, lay by the lake, go jetskiing. Alone. My grandparents will be around, but being alone up there, for the most part, could be a very eye-opening and amazing experience.
  3. Buy my blog domain and make this blog ME! I’ve mentioned this before, but I really want to expand my blog’s capabilities, get it out of wordpress (the free templates are okay, but I want it to scream me!) and make it unbelievable.
  4. Find love again. This one is a toughie, because it may not happen, and I am going into 2010 with set expectations that it may or may not happen, and I am okay with that, either way. I’m writing this down to remind myself to BE OKAY WITH THAT. We’ll see what happens. I’m just going to let it flow.
  5. Run a half marathon. Yup, you read that right. I want to run a half marathon in 2010. I’ve pushed myself a lot this year, fitness-wise, and have really LOVED every minute of it. I’ve run farther than ever during a race (5 miles) and solo (6 miles), I’ve becoming a spinning addict, I’ve had a love affair with STS, and Group Kick (as noted above!) is sure to kick my ass, in a good way. Running a half marathon will be a huge feat if I can do it. Next September, here I come!

So, there you have it. Some of my goals for 2010 – what do you think? I’m excited, I think this year is going to be amazing, and I’m ready to breathe it all in. Ready, set, go!!

~~

On another note, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading some of my fellow bloggers’ takes on 2009 and 2010. A few goodies:

  1. Diary of a Divorced Guy: PHENOMENAL read – he comments on a letter to himself (from 2008) – the changes are amazing.
  2. Big Mama: a simple, yet powerful read, including a great story about God. Give it a look.
  3. Big Little Wolf’s Daily Plate of Crazy: she takes a look at the past decade, hers, and more holistically. Fresh, honest, and hopeful.
  4. This is Why I Date: Because she is one of my favorite “real life” friends (AND BSF!), her post makes me SO proud of her. She came a long way this year vs. last and I have a feeling 2010 will also be “her” year – LYLAS! 😉
