I’ve been feelin’ the 2010 theme for this week’s posts so far, so I thought I’d blog on a topic that I’ve been thinking about for awhile, and its significance is rising because of a couple of important milestones coming up in the next week (you’ll just have to keep reading to figure out what those are! ;)). A friend of mine sent me the link to Steve Jobs’ commencement speech for Stanford, where he uttered a phrase that I’ve kept with me ever since -

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards.”

He says this in response to a few of life’s challenges that hit him over the course of several years, including getting fired from Apple, and looking back, he realized that that ended up being hugely significant towards later realizations in life (and eventually, full circle back to Apple). I think it’s really a great way of putting life’s challenges into perspective, or really, anything you do in life…looking back and seeing how they connect with where you are now.

Another thing he points out is that you “have to find something you love” because life is too short to compromise on that. I agree with that to a point, because the realistic part of me knows that sometimes you have to do things (jobs etc) that you may not love, but you find ways to add that love or passion into what you are doing on a daily basis. For me? Group Kick is something that I am loving (even though it’s WAY out of my comfort zone, can be scary, and is strenuous, to say the least!). Another thing that I love to do that adds joy to my often-stressful days? Blogging. This is such a release for me, I find so much joy in it – and also in reading all of the blogs I follow each day. It grounds me.

This is a really good read and I thought it was worth sharing because I think it’s transferable to a lot of areas, not just divorce. Give it a read, if you have the time.

