The day Pete and I “made it official” as boyfriend and girlfriend ten years ago. I was 20, he was 19. YOUNG.

TEN YEARS!

I mentioned it to Pete on Sunday, as he came by for dinner, and he knew the day was coming up, too, and he sort of just looked at me, and said “yeah, I know.” and shook his head. Perhaps that was the “regret” coming out in him again, or perhaps there wasn’t more for him to say at that moment. I’m thinking it was the latter, more just reflecting.

And, I know these “milestones’ will wane and won’t “feel” like anything more than a day, but in a sense, I welcome this day being what it is because as I think I have mentioned before, I wouldn’t have changed the last 10 years of my life for anything. Pete and I had something that I won’t soon forget, and part of that “something” still lingers, within our friendship. For that, I am glad.

I’m going to keep this simple, and just think about this day, today. I am not sad. I am not regretful. I am not angry. I am not lonely.

I’m content. There’s a whole lot of life out there to live, and dammit, I’m going to live the sh$%t out of it!!!

How’s that for simple?

