Well, it’s been quite the first week of the year, to say the least. Most of my posts this week have been centered around the new year and decade and my goals for where I want this year to take me, and I thought this quote was particularly powerful for that purpose, and in context of this week’s happenings (thanks Chaz!)

“Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.”

This is a similar quote to a few others I’ve blogged on recently, around using your past as context and understanding it in hindsight, but in looking FORWARD, and not being too hampered by the past. This week has had it’s share of milestones, including the would-be 10 year anniversary for me and Pete, to the passing of a decade, to my first semi-break-up since I entered the dating world last summer. I’ve gone through my fair share of emotions this week – from happiness and elation to ringing in a new year and the decade and the year of me, and just general work stuff, including the quickie trip to Chicago, and just a generally hectic week (not that I should be surprised, given it was the first full week back at work after the holidays!)

In terms of boy #9 and his decision to end things, given his “chance” encounter with an old high school friend, I’ve had a night to sleep on it, I’ve taken every comment from my wonderful blog “family” and the best friends a girl could ask for (you know who you are!!) and I realize that sure, it sucks, but it’s an opportunity to reflect on what I call my “close encounter with potential relationship” and learn from it, tweak my approach for the next go round, and in the meantime, have fun, be me, and be patient, because I know it will happen, just in due time. I have to channel my inner patience, and have faith in God, standing strong in my belief that everything truly does happen for a reason, and life is meant to be lived – forwards, not backwards, and not anywhere in between.

Cheers to the end of a trying week…I’ll be blogging on my reflections from “close encounter with potential relationship” in future posts…stay tuned, and thank you again for your support, it means more than you know.

