I feel  like I say this a lot, but it’s been quite a week. In looking at my posts this week, I started out oh-so-optimistic, and as the week waned on, I got down. Hey, it happens. I’m allowed to have my moments just like the next person, and sometimes, I don’t “allow” myself to feel down, or sad, or lonely, or empty, always trying to be optimistic and happy. While I am the latter – happy and optimistic – sometimes I miss what I thought I had.

Enter today’s Quote Friday quote:

“Always look at what you have left.  Never look at what you have lost.”

I tucked this quote away a little while ago and it hit me across the face today – impeccable timing, right? I have a LOT “left” in my life more than what I have “lost.” And I KNOW that. Sometimes I just need to remind myself of that, and remind myself of Joel Osteen’s powerful words from earlier this week – I am valuable, and my value isn’t determined by others, but by me, more than anything (and, of course, by God). So, when I feel lonely because I haven’t found love yet, that doesn’t mean my life isn’t full in other ways.

In fact, not having someone in my life is making me realize that there is – or should be – more to life than a man in it. Sure, it’s been fun dating, and I know I will go back to it relatively soon, but I need to learn to embrace my single-dom. I guess I got so wrapped up in the dating world recently that I was not for a brief moment forgetting that happiness should not mean being in a relationship. Sure, it can mean immense happiness, and add some quality to your life, but happiness is not and should not be solely dependent on being in a relationship or being married.

So, looking around at my life – yes, there is a a small void in my life that creeps up sometimes to feel larger than it is without that – my life is pretty damn good, otherwise. I have a job, I am going out on a limb and living my dream of teaching a fitness class, and I’m planning to travel this year, and enjoy being single. I’m going to embrace it. I’m still exploring me, and this week’s “stagnant” feeling has shown me that I still have a lot to explore and more resilience to gain.

Gee, I guess I still am learning, huh?

