I’ve had my first week where I’ve felt a little more down than up (nothing terribly bad, of course, just feeling anxious about finding love, as you’ve all been reading!) and my realization last night, that I’m so much LESS sad, even when I AM sad made me select this quote, courtesy of Chaz Recovering, for Quote Friday:

“A year of pain will teach us far more than a lifetime of comfort.”

I think this holds true for a lot of things – the easy road may be easy but what does it really teach you? Not a heck of a lot. So, while the last year (plus) has had it’s fair share of pain, I’ve learned more than I can even capture in 1, 5, 10 blog posts, and firmly believe I am a newer, better, stronger, happier, more grateful person than ever before.

When talking to some of my blog “family” that aren’t as far along in their journey, and they lament on getting from “here to there” (here being the divorce process and pain that goes along with it, and there being where I am now, post-divorce, truly living more happily again), it’s hard to communicate that, though the pain, anger, and healing process is tough, in the end, it’s worth going through, because you just learn so much, and you value things so much more than ever before.

And, part of that may be specific to my particular journey, but in reading others’ journeys, and comments on my blog on my struggle with accepting that I sort of need to “let go” of trying to control finding the one that will sweep me off my feet (and yes, oh yes, he WILL sweep me off my feet, I’m convinced *wink*), and their lamenting on how they got to their current, loving, wonderful relationships, I realize that I need to take my own advice here, and have faith that the next phase of my journey – finding love – WILL happen.

Why?

Because I have so many wonderful pieces of proof – for all of my blog “family” and “real life” friends that have gone through divorce only to find true love and happiness – that I know it will happen for me too. And I can’t wait to experience it all unfold…when it’s meant to.

Thank you all for your outpouring of support this week, in particular, you’ve made me laugh, you’ve made me smile, and you’ve made me realize that I’ll find what I’m looking for, but just need to sit back a little, have faith, and watch it unfold.

It’s called life.

