Hmm. I may be breaking the dating hiatus. I know, I know, I haven’t been on the hiatus that long…all of 1  1/2 months maybe? Well, funny how things like stumbling across chemistry.com can perhaps sway things in the other direction, isn’t it?

While I won’t get into too much detail, since we all know I have a fear of jinxing first dates (after jinxing a few here by talking about them before they actually happened!), I will say that I think I am ready to test the waters again. See, I tried out the “free weekend” chemistry.com was offering (sort of like eHarmony.com, for anyone not familiar with it – thanks Snark for the suggestion to check it out!) and after looking through my “matches,” one stuck out at me. We got to the emailing stage (since there are several back and forth questions and “qualities you’re looking for” steps first) and swapped personal emails before we were cut off at the end of the weekend (without signing up), and have traded a good chunk of back and forth emails during the last two days. I sense promise and potential, and I hope I’m right, but until we actually meet, of course I have no idea if it’s going to go any further than that.

But I will say this…

He’s divorced, he has almost an identical outlook on life (live it, be happy, travel, find genuine people, be true to yourself and others…it’s as if he reached into my brain and read from it, seriously), he digs a good workout and well, he’s also pretty damn hot, which is just a nice side benefit, isn’t it? Admittedly, he fits a good handful already, of some of my list items. What else?

He’s 41.

11 years older than me.

That is something very different than I have ever took into consideration in the past. I have never dated anyone more than 3 years older than me or likewise, 3 years younger than me. However, if I didn’t know his age, I’d say he “seems” more like my age. If that makes any sense. Not that there is anything wrong with being 41 – at all – but I always thought a 10+ year age difference would cause some issues with seeing eye to eye.

Of course, time will tell, but this is me looking to take a chance, a leap of faith, and seeing what happens. It feels a little like chance, and if I don’t follow through with it, I’ll always wonder “what if?” So, here I go…stay tuned….

It’s the year of “why not?” so I’m going to stick with my gut and go with it. Thoughts??

