So, CBE, I’ve decided is definitely the most unchartered territory I have encountered since entering the dating scene last summer.

And it sort of scares, and it sort of thrills me, and I sort of want to see where it goes from here.

I’m finding out pretty fast just how analytical he is – a thinker, a doer, a say-it-like-it-is type. I had an inkling he was, from our initial convos and emails we traded back and forth, but he just sent me an email that was pretty dense content-wise, and after the day I’ve had (feeling a little delirious…thinking the combo of work being super hectic and KickKickKick is finally catching up to me – so she says as she just sits down from Kick, only to turn around and do it again in oh, less than 11 hours…), I had to re-read parts of it a few times.

I won’t go into too much depth, but what he said definitely has me thinking a few things – he’s definitely looking for something longer-term (which is fine, though I’m more a see-what-happens type of girl right now. For the right guy, of course, but after one date, I can’t say whether he is yet or not, and that’s totally normal, in my opinion), he’s very passionate, he’s super spontaneous, and he’s challenging (the spontaneous thing is a whole new world to me…I’ve never been spontaneous and am “jealous” slightly of those that have that “bone” in them. I’m such a planner, not being in control of something, and just up and going on a trip, or doing something that I may think is crazy – like salsa dancing (yes this did come up in his email!) – sort of scares me a little…but only because it’s totally out of my comfort zone.

But maybe that’s what I need.

Another thing he is?

Honest and semi-blunt.

That’s refreshing since most of the guys I have gone out with so far have not been either of those, fully, not totally genuine, and that just gets me – a huge peeve for me. The bluntness is new, but I sort of dig it – it certainly lets you know where you stand, ya know?

So, the net-net out of the email?

He definitely wants to get to know me more. He definitely wants to go out again. The only real challenge he sees is the distance, since we’re an hour apart (sort of cramps his spontaneous style – ha), which I don’t really see as an issue, at this point, because an hour is an hour, it’s not the end of the world.

But it’s unchartered territory for me – in several ways, so yes, that scares me, since being out of my comfort zone tends to (as it usually does for many, right?), and usually when I am out of my comfort zone, I run, I don’t step up to the plate, and I take a step back. But as this is my year of “why not” and “living dangerously,” I feel compelled to take the step forward and see what happens.

I’m going to take it slow. I’m going to be honest. It’s going to test my own ability to be brutally honest, if I need to be, if I find that we are not on the same page, as it seems we initially are. But I think this will be good for me to explore – either way.

So, I’m leaping. Slowly πŸ˜‰

…and maybe salsa dancing? Seriously? Notsosureaboutthat.

