It never ceases to amaze me – the beauty of life is a powerful thing.

One of my closest friends in my life (and one of the bestest, kindest, loyal friend a girl could ever ask for!) had her baby this morning and I was lucky enough to get to visit her this evening. And I was just struck by the beauty and power of life. I just came away from it inpsired and firmly planted in perspective and humbleness that as stressful as the daily grind can sometimes get, we’re here, we’re alive, and we’re moving forward.

Seeing that tiny peanut of a baby all curled up and swaddled, sleeping soundly…well, it gave me peace and a warmth I can’t describe. My friend D looks wonderful, despite being very tired, and happy, and relieved. I know being a new mom will come with its fair share of challenges, but I’ve already vowed to be the best “honorary” auntie I can, and I’m looking forward to every moment of it…let’s just call it “training” for when one (or both!) of my sisters has a child, right? (no, no, not training for myself, unless I somehow realize I do want kids…right now, that’s an unknown that I’m not yet ready to decide on, nor do I really think I need or have to, I suppose, right?).

Anyway, it was just a great way to start the day (with an early morning text message – D knows me too well – she said “I knew you’d be up working out or something!) and end the day – visiting mama and baby.

With that, I’m calling it a not-so-bad Monday, all things considered. Life – it’s a wonderful thing, isn’t it?

Congrats my friend, you’re going to be an amazing mama!!

