Once again, a slap upside the head with perspective.

This time – from CBE. Wow, is this guy great or what?! 😉

I’m having another one of those frustrating days, where it’s just way too easy to lose perspective on the bigger picture and in venting to CBE about it, a bit, he sends me a very sweet text message that says, in part: “close your eyes for 5 minutes and think of all happy thoughts and memories and then when you open them, you’ll feel a lot better, I promise!” – okay, that was plenty to make me smile and realize my annoyances were fleeting.

And then he emails me a few more thoughts:

I hope you realize that your day isn’t going as bad as it COULD be going…I’m sure someone in the world today has experienced a fatal accident at their place of work, someone in a large city somewhere has been shot today, someone else that neither of us are aware of has committed suicide.  Those are quite drastic yes, but my point is for you to just realize its the pressure that makes you want to cry, its the stress that makes everything seem like it’s the only important thing you have going on. Just remember in the end, when we are laying there, the LAST thing going through our mind is the wish that we spent more time at work, or completed another file, made another call or cleaned another load of laundry. When you’re stressed, try to remember these words and know that the little things that we take for granted and forget so easily are WAY more important than stressing out over getting something done before the 5PM deadline….K?  Put a smile on your face and realize what’s really important.

Um…no words – that’s utterly 100% true. I almost felt foolish afterwards – not that he meant it that way at all, but it was exactly what I needed to hear. Sure, some of the comparisons about how bad my day *could* be doing are more drastic than others (suicide etc.), but so true…I mean, we aren’t curing cancer in our daily lives (well, unless any of you are doctors or scientists! I know I’m not!), we’re working, we’re charging forward, we’re getting it done, not anything that is worth getting all worked up over.

And, well, it showed me even more that CBE and I are on the same wavelength, because we think alike…that email snippet above sounds pretty similar to things I talk about relative to perspective too, so it was actually really great to read that coming from him as well. And, then, he sent me a note from The Secret, which I’ll close with here – again, good words to live by…I want to take this so-called “easy path” – who’s with me?!

Our natural state of being is joy, and it takes so much energy to think negative thoughts, to speak negative words, and to feel miserable. The easy path is good thoughts, good words, and good deeds.

Take the easy path May the joy be with you.

