I thought I’d follow up my post from last night on trust, to do a little three-parter on “re-learning” the things you likely take for granted in a marriage or long-term relationship. To me, these are trust, love and simply figuring each other out.

Tackling love next – how do you know when it’s not just chemistry, it’s not just attraction, but it’s genuine feelings, moving more towards love?

I guess you “know when you’re supposed to know” and it does come in time, but it’s one of those things that to me, is still so fuzzy in my head since I haven’t fallen in love since well, I was 20 years old. A lot has changed since then, clearly, and so have my own feelings and definitions on what love is and should be, in a way, too. But it is one of those things that – when in a long-term relationship or marriage – that you just don’t remember when or how it happened, but one day, it was just there. At least, that’s how I remember it.

In terms of CBE? I think it’s still too premature to say it’s a loving feeling, but I definitely get that heart-skips-a-beat when I hear from him – text, phone, email or when I see him – and I truly enjoy spending time together, which just feels so good, so to me, this “thing” we have going on has the basis for love, but I don’t know if we’re quite there yet. It’s only been about 6 weeks or so, so I’m just seeing how things play out.

But, in terms of love and what I want to feel when I am in love? Well, I heard this song last night on Dancing With the Stars (NO, I didn’t watch all of it, just bits and pieces between flipping back to Chuck – awesome show if you haven’t seen it!) and it just resonated – “I’ll Be” by Edwin McCain- this song captures it in a way (not all of it, but pieces). Enjoy.

Thoughts? When did you “know” it was love?

~~

~~

Side note – THANK YOU Nicki for the Sunshine Award shout-out – you’re the best. And well, warm and fuzzies back atcha πŸ™‚

