I’ve written on the topic of why I love blogging quite a bit (here and here for starters), but the question of why do you blog is a little different, isn’t it?

And then I get this comment on my “Who I am” page – a note from Leora Trub,Β  a student in the Clinical Psychology Ph.D. Program at The Graduate Center of the City University of New York (CUNY) on a study she’s conducting on the reasons people blog and what benefits it brings…and she wants me to participate!Β  I was so excited to see her note and I thought many of you might be interested in participating, and if you are, please contact her by email (ltrub@gc.cuny.edu) and she’ll send you the survey (done anonymously).

A few more details:

I am reaching out to you as a blogger who can help deepen our understanding of this phenomenon. I believe that your voice is an important one to be heard and hope you will enjoy participating in the study. I have developed an online questionnaire that asks about specific aspects of blogging as well as asking about feelings about yourself and others in your life. The survey is a mix of numerical scales and opportunities to reflect in an open-ended format about the role of blogging in your life, and how it has changed over time.

You are eligible to participate if you are at least 21 years of age and have been maintaining an English-language personal blog for at least six months that you update or visit at least twice a week (on average). Your participation involves completing a confidential online questionnaire. The data will be downloaded onto a secure server to which only I have access. No identifying information, such as your names or address, will be collected. If you desire, you may choose not to share your blog name, in which case I will not access your blog for any reason after this point. If you do share your blog name, it will NOT be connected to your responses in the survey. Additionally, you will be given the opportunity to be identified by a code name in research reports and to have your blog description changed slightly so it cannot be identified. The survey takes approximately 45 minutes to complete and participation is completely voluntary. Three participants who complete the survey will be randomly selected by a lottery to receive a $75 cash prize.

I haven’t yet done the survey, but I think she’s going to post some initial findings to her “Why do you blog?” blog as well, and I’m really curious at the overall findings as well.

But it did get me thinking even further…beyond the initial reasons on why I started my blog, why do I blog?

I’ll post some thoughts on that in a future entry (perhaps after I take the survey), but it begs the question of those of you that do blog…why do you? (and again, loving blog synergies – seeing T’s blog post yesterday on her inspiration for starting her blog – awesome).

