…before you assume the subject line means things are over with CBE…you are wrong (made ya look! okay, that’s not really that funny, I ‘spose. Maybe I’m just slaphappy tonight!).

This is the topic of a guest blog post I’ve been asked to write for How Not to Marry the Wrong Guy! While I won’t go into a ton of detail here, so as not to “steal the thunder” of that particular post (in draft form now…), it does make me think about it – why am I better off alone? AM I? Or am I just coping?

Most days, I think I am better off alone – as in, out of the marriage itself, but other days, when I’m perusing my ever-growing list of blogs, I continue to realize how lucky I am to have sustained a relatively “normal” marriage and divorce and continue to have a solid friendship with my ex-husband. And sometimes…just sometimes…I wonder…

Why did we divorce?

Sometimes, when I really think about it, and think back to it, I think it could have been mended. Sure, it would have taken a lot of work, but it could have been rectified. And then other times, I think back to the hurt and pain and fear and anger, and I realize – there was no going back…it was the point of no return, no matter which way you look at it.

It’s bittersweet.

Sometimes it’s sad.

But the bottom line is, I am better off alone. Why?

Because I am a better me.

(it brings tears to my eyes, it gives me a lump in my throat…but it’s true. I am a better me. The emotions are happiness, not sadness…it’s the power of change that brings the emotions.)

