I’ve been bursting to share this detail for a few months now, but I can finally share it – I’m going to be an auntie!!!

My sister Jen (who blogs for Growing More than Vegetables) finally announced it, so I can finally share it. I am beyond thrilled for her, as it’s something they’ve been trying for, for awhile, and it feels especially special and poignant for two reasons – first, as we’re triplets, she’s the first to have a child, and it just feels so much more special, to me, to be able to experience this with her, since we are so close, and support her, and love her and (soon-to-be) baby. And second, as we near the one-year anniversary of our Nonna‘s passing, I know she is beaming down with pride because she always wanted to be a great-grandmother and she knew how much Jen (in particular) wanted to have a child (And, before I get too teary, I’m going to stop typing!).

And, as I said to Jen- which some may think is an odd comment (lol) – I just can’t wait to see what our genes “spawn” in a child – I just think it will be really neat to see what baby looks like, how much “it” looks like Jen vs. Josh, vs. our family’s traits in general. Just very, very cool and I’m so happy for them and feel so blessed that God has answered her prayers.

And, for the record, I’m going to be the best auntie EVER (back off Jess!)

~~

On another note, I’m taking the plunge on another one of my resolutions for 2010 – the year of me – and signing up for a half-marathon in September.

Mind you, I still have yet to run past 6 miles, but as I have 4 1/2 months to prepare, I’m signing up so I stick to it! My sister Jess captures our collective feelings well here, and I too love that it’s called the “Wicked Half” – cuz it’s going to be wicked hahhhd! πŸ˜‰

~~

And finally, I had dinner with Pete last night. We haven’t really seen each other in a couple of months and had to finish our taxes (way to wait till the last minute, right?!) and it was really nice to see him, catch up on life, and just, well, hang out. I missed him and it was good to connect. Interestingly, he’s grappling with some of the same issues as me – the whole dating thing/do I want a relationship or do I not – so it was good to vent about that a bit too (more on that later…).

