I read a really good post from I’m Gonna Break Your Heart yesterday that has spurred a few thoughts that I wanted to share as well, in a similar vein.

What jumped out at me in her post was this particular section:

Our firsts might be behind us, but our nexts will be better. Until we finally reach that point where our last one is our best one. Our last first date, our last marriage, our last dream.

Last one, best one.

She’s tying that into a variety of things -from experiencing first love, first marriage, etc., and how those experiences can ultimately lead to better “nexts” in life, and to be honest, I couldn’t agree more, especially in watching (with joy) two of my closest divorced friends IRL find their perfect fits (and a blog friend Nicki – loved your post on he’s the one!)

It’s no secret that I tend to agonize and overthink when it comes to meeting someone that actually turns into a relationship and/or be my “perfect fit” but reading this post (and the aforementioned from Nicki, as well as Sunshine’s happiness post!) made me realize – yet again – that he is out there, and that this s the “next” that will be far better than my “first” and I’m just really looking forward and hopeful to find him relatively soon. Wouldn’t that be nice?

I also think it goes without saying that “firsts” are hugely valuable experiences, in general, in life, in terms of providing valuable perspective, learnings that are priceless, and things you want to do differently the next time around. This is one of the main reasons I don’t mind jumping back into the dating game again, relatively quickly after CBE, and why I don’t regret any of my dating experiences or choices so far – they’ve all been valuable and they’ve all taught me something I want (or don’t want!) in a relationship.

…and what did I find in my inbox this morning?

A rather promising email from aΒ  guy on OK Cupid (of all places! the site I haven’t really paid much attention to lately whatsoever) with a lot of similar interests and outlook on life, lives relatively close, and is (gasp) the same age (imagine that). He’s also a Libra (like me), likes to work out and likes wine. Score? Time will tell, but hey, it gave me a smile, so that’s a good sign, right?

And, in closing, lovelovelove the quote at the end of this post as well – so, in closing:

Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, β€œWhoo hoo, what a ride!” ~Unknown

Woohoo!

