Happy Quote Friday everyone!

It’s been sort of a “chugging along” week for me, as evidenced by my somewhat mundane blog posts (a touch of writer’s block and the opposite of writer’s block, methinks) and today’s quote doesn’t really relate to my week, per se, but just something I’ve been thinking about, especially in the wake of BSF’s latest post with “S,” and what I feel I (and BSF and any of my other single IRL/blog friends!) truly deserve in a relationship –

Worth. Adequacy. Beyond Adequacy. Love. Value. Trust.

And I think today’s quote recaps this nicely:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?” Marianne Williamson

Really – who ARE we not to demand excellence in a relationship and in life in general? Why shy away from the power that lies within us and demand the best? No compromise. No if’s and’s or but’s – worth. Why settle for anything less and why settle at all? I think what BSF is going through right now is actually validation for me on why I ended things with CBE (not to say that this is the case with “S” though it potentially may be…time will tell) and why it wasn’t the right fit for me.

I was compromising (too much). I was excusing. I was settling for something less than I envision I deserve and want in a potential relationship.

And I won’t do that. I refuse. No matter how much I may like someone, or be attracted to them, or think it could work “if” only this, or “if” only that.  Don’t accept the status quo, shoot for greatness…because we deserve it. And, I’m not suggesting setting your expectations so sky-high that any relationship you enter fails because of that, I’m suggesting we (and me, too) need to stick to your guns, have your list of must-haves and stick to the ones that are make-or-break (in particular), and that someone will come – in due time. Sure, I need to remember this and remind myself of that too, but life is far too short to be stuck in something that isn’t working, or realizing too little-too-late that it wasn’t what you envisioned it to be.

So, that’s my relationship rant for the day…hope it resonates with some of you, and for me, it’s just something I need to constantly remind myself of and make sure I’m wearing my patience pants 😉 And, I think this goes for anything in life, beyond relationships and marriage – careers, friendship, and life.

Worth, love, value, trust, happiness – they’re things that make life worth truly living.

Happy weekend everyone!! I’m looking forward to spending time with my college roommate (and a possible IKEA trip!), celebrating my brother-in-law Josh’s 30th birthday, drinking some wine (no, duh), and, on Sunday, remembering my Nonna…as it would have been her birthday. She’ll always be in my heart.

~~

By the way, please check out Jen’s blog – New Beginnings – she just started it, and is a new “visitor” to mine – and upon her first post, I already love it. Good luck, Jen, on your blog journey!

