Happy quote Friday everyone!!

As I re-read my posts (and guest post from Shannon, and my own, on her blog – read me!!) from the week,  I clearly have dating on the brain like WHOA. And, notsomuch “dating” in terms of the act of dating a whole bunch of guys at once, but dating to find a man that might be a good fit for something longer term (just to be clear, since we know I am not a “date just to date” kind of person), and I came across this quote, which I think fits some of what I have been thinking about:

Caution is what causes you to look both ways before crossing the street. Fear is what keeps you frozen on the curb forever.

Dating, as I noted at the end of Shannon’s guest post (and in my own guest post on hers) is not easy. Not by a long stretch. And it takes some guts, confidence, the ability to pick yourself up and dust yourself off, and a little bit of gusto.

But being too cautious in taking the dating “plunge” or being afraid to put yourself out there, well, to me, that is a shame, because if you are single, and you do want to find love, then you sort of do need to come to a point where you dive in. And sure, I think that there is also something to be said for “it’ll happen when it’s meant to happen” (finding the right “one” – or them finding you – even better!), but getting yourself out there and learning and experiencing does a heck of a lot for you too. At least it has for me.

So, that’s my little pep talk for anyone who may be reading – IRL or my blog friends – that are single and haven’t yet tried to get out there – either online dating or whatever it may be that gets you out there.  So, that’s sort of where my head is at right now, and why I’m still embracing the dating challenge even though some may think there’s more value in me letting it lie and seeing what happens “organically.” Right now, I’m not quite ready to let go of the little bit of control of that I feel I do just by dating, and I’m still hopeful that I could find someone that way.

So, throw caution to the wind, look both ways and step off the sidewalk and dive right in…it’s not so bad 😉

Happy weekend everyone!! I have a fantastic weekend lined up – complete with a potentially “epic” bar crawl with some of my favorites (including BSF and BDFF!) in Boston and some amazing weather. Cheers!

~~~

Okay, and a little tibdit? I have a date with chemistry.com boy #2 – stay tuned for details on that tomorrow, mmk? And wish me luck 🙂

