A hot summer weekend. In May.

A fantastic bar crawl with fabulous friends and cute boys.

Catching a few rays of sun while catching up on magazine- and blog-reading.

Grabbing the first ice cream of the season (to be had this evening with my sis and bro in law…soft serve twist, my absolute fave!)

These are just a few of the things that are making me happy right now. I read a great tip in a magazine I read today that said to capture the moments that made you happy during the day to boost your mood, gain perspective, or just to realize those little things do make you happy. I’m going to try and write a post a week (or so) on my happy moments, because when I read the article and asked myself “when am I happy?” it was, in a way, hard to put them into words. I am primarily a happy person, of course, and try to be as often as I can, but lately, little things have been getting me down, or I’ve read too much into certain situations, dates, boys, Kick, life, etc. and just get myself all jumbled up and frustrated.

This is my attempt to get out of my own brain a little bit. We’ll see if it works.

~~

On another note – during the “epic” bar crawl yesterday, which was, indeed epic (what a blast – the weather was amazing, the group of people duly amazing, including a few cute boys as well, which is never a bad thing, in my book, and no hangover today…wow, I even impress myself hehe), I had an interesting conversation with one of my single friends. She has no particular interest in dating right now, or being in a relationship and is intrigued by why I want to meet someone, after being in a relationship/marriage for 10 years.

Her: “well, you haven’t really been alone/on your own for that long. Why the rush?” (I’m paraphrasing)

Me: *thinking* “well, I have been single for a year and a half, that is long. I miss having someone.”

Her: “But you were with someone for 10 years, you should theoretically be by yourself for half the time you were in a relationship to get over them.” (again, paraphrasing, but that’s the gist)

The convo gave me a few things to ponder:

1) I don’t want to be single for 5 years (half of my relationship/marriage to Pete), no way, Jose. I just don’t, and I hope that doesn’t happen.

2) I don’t necessarily agree with that rule of thumb, though I do agree with not rushing into something serious too soon after such a long relationship, but I think the length of time I have been on my own is a healthy distance from my marriage, and it’s not like I am going to rush into things (clearly!) with the first guy that I end up dating longer term and/or becomes my boyfriend.

3) I don’t date just “to” date, but sometimes it is a means to an end. And sometimes I think back to wishing it could happen organically…who knows, that may happen, and I would embrace it if it did, but the letting go of the control thing (in terms of dating and using dating sites to “aid” in my dating affairs!) is still a little scary to me, but I may go that route one of these days…maybe. 😉

~~

Re-reading this post, these two topics could potentially be two different posts, but this is the way my brain operates these days…clearly I can’t get out of my own brain and it’s going in a few different directions, but, you get the gist, right?

Onward…

