Borrowing a theme from one of INRIS‘ recent blog posts, I feel compelled to “blog out” the soundtrack of my life today, an idea that popped into my head driving home after another long – very, very long – day at work. Hopefully this is relatively amusing for some, and maybe you even relate to some of these songs and lyrics, and at the very least, I can express the utter all-over-the-place day(s) of all days (today and yesterday were doozies…) I had.

Starting the day today, I wanted to beg the question “what do you want from me? a la Adam Lambert….specifically, these lyrics:

Just don’t give up I’m workin it out
Please don’t give in, I won’t let you down
It messed me up, need a second to breathe
Just keep coming around
Hey, whataya want from me?

Between about 50 million meetings, where I literally had one hour – ONE – that was NOT scheduled with a meeting between 9-6 today…whataya want from me?! How on earth can I possibly get any work done, or even breathe? Seriously? Yeah. That’s me today. Yesterday, pretty much the same, except meetings didn’t end until 7. Yes, 7.

Next up?

“I’m a bitch” – Meredith Brooks…and specifically, this line: I hate the world today…” because truly, I just couldn’t get out of my own way, my own head, my own WORK, and obviously, all of my meetings. So, what happens? I get bitchy. Real bitchy. Yeah me, ms. rainbows and kittens. I get bitchy too. There, I said it.

And as I began “falling to pieces“, and wanting to run away and hide, even though…

They say that things happen for a reason
But no wise word’s gonna stop the bleeding
I’m falling to pieces…

Things started to come to a crescendo in my mind…when I get to the level of stress and overworked-ness that I began feeling, I get that fight or flight panic feeling and what do I want to do? Run away…but I knew I couldn’t, and I know I can’t, and I know that everything is coming to a head, will soon come back down again, and soon things will feel more even-keeled, but right now, I just feel stressed, I feel pulled in 15 directions, and I don’t have that sense of work/life balance that I try so hard for. I know it happens, and it’s usually short-lived, but it’s just been an intense few days and I know it’s probably going to get worse before it gets better.

The light at the end of the tunnel, however, is this..I’m going to be “waking up in Vegas” in just about one week…let’s enjoy these lyrics, shall we?

Don’t be a baby
Remember what you told me
Shut up and put your money where your mouth is
That’s what you get for waking up in Vegas
Get up and shake the glitter off your clothes, now
That’s what you get for waking up in Vegas

Hell yes. Now that‘s what I’m talking about…am I right, Mel and Shannon? I know, I know, the light is there, I can almost touch it, but until then, I am feeling the squeeze, and I just need to hunker down, focus, and get ‘er done. Are you with me? I need all the  “woohoos” I can get right now, so bring it friends, please, I need it!! XO

~~

Okay, there were a few more I totally tried to weave in here, but I couldn’t make them fit, but they are some that I can relate to – in other parts of my life that are not work-related…

such as, Superman Tonight” by Bon Jovi…I want my Superman, and I hope I find him soon (patience, patience!!). It’s one of those days when I just desperately want to come home to someone, snuggle up with a big ole hug and just decompress. I know I’ll capture that, and until then, my kitties will suffice, right?

Who’s going to save you
When the stars fall from your sky
And who’s going to pull you in
When the tide gets too high
Who’s going to hold you
When you turn out the lights
I won’t lie I wish that I
Could be your superman tonight

Who’s going to fix you
The next time you break down
Stranded alone by the side of the road
It’s your baggage that’s dragging you down
Don’t look back
Let it go

And finally, probably most surprisingly, the lyrics I can completely relate to right now, in part, is from Eminem, yes, Eminem. I’m really digging his new stuff, and love some of what he says in “Not Afraid.”

I’m not afraid to take a stand
Everybody come take my hand
We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just let you know that, you’re not alone

I know, I’m not alone, and I’m not afraid to stand up and go after what I want…so yeah, I can relate to this. And some of all of these lyrics – the soundtrack to my life today – makes me see that light at the end of the tunnel, in all aspects of life – in the next week (VEGAS!), longer-term (love…) and overall (happiness, work/life balance).

Yea, I’m going to be okay.

