That’s right – this date almost didn’t happen – with boy #3 from OK Cupid (realize I didn’t “name” him yesterday!).

Why, you ask?

Because it took me a 2 1/2 drive to get there…when it should only take 20 mins, tops.

Why, you ask?

Primarily, traffic, and oh wait, a GPS that completely sucks apparently, or has a mind of it’s own. I knew generally where I was going, as I’d been to this particular spot on the water before, but relied on my GPS, since that’s how I roll (and I left the directions on my desk at work, great place for them…). So, I’m driving, I take a wrong turn, take another wrong turn, and it’s all downhill from there. Next thing I know, I’m crying, I’m frustrated, I suddenly feel as though “what am I doing? why am I bothering dating? is this frustration worth it?” when I wasn’t truly questioning those things, I was just super frustrated and felt like a total tool for being SO late for this date.

Finally talked to him, told him the situation and he was already on his way to find me – which, by the way, I found super cute and nice of him to do (considering at this point, I was already an HOUR late). Coincidentally as we were talking (and I was totally falling for the unexpected southern accent…he’s originally from just north of Dallas), he had pulled over on the side of the road and I found him, and we drove back to the place we were going for the night.

Thus why the date almost didn’t happen. I was thisclose to saying, forget it, let’s do this another time and crawling off into a hole for the night. But I’m really glad I didn’t.

The date went really well…at first, he was kind of untalkative and I instantly wondered if he wasn’t interested. He warmed up soon enough, though, and we talked about his job(s) (personal trainer, teaches group classes at his gym and works part-time at a non-profit rugby for kids group, and also plays rugby) and mine (meh. LOL), talked about our families (he has 2 sisters and 1 brother, they’re all 2 years apart) and life, generally.

I was wondering if it’d be an early night since I kinda killed half of it with my lateness, but he suggested we walk on the pier as the evening had turned beautiful. It was humid, but thunderstorms had cleared and all that remained were bright stars and a moonlit sky. Perfect summer evening.

We talked, about dating, about some of our own “bucket” list items and what we want to do this summer. Some things were similar, some were not, but they all sorta jived pretty well. We walked some more, and there were some quiet moments, but they were good ones, not awkward. It was relatively romantic, I must say, for a first date, but it didn’t feel very forced, rushed or awkward or anything, given that it was indeed a first date. And though I won’t go into major detail, there were a few kisses, and they were also “just right” – not too much, not too little, not over the top.

Let’s just say the night ended around midnight…waaay past my bedtime for a Tuesday night. (update: and he called me just as I was getting home to make sure I got there safely. Nice, right?!)

But worth it.

(We’ll see what happens next…we’ve talked about getting together again, but he’s got a busy schedule this week and is in NYC this weekend, so TBD on that.)

