It’s moments like this that you realize how precious life is, how important it is to hold tight to those around you, those you love, and never let go.

I found out yesterday that a childhood friend of mine (we were neighbors and have kept up loosely on Facebook but we haven’t seen each other in a very long time) faced what I can’t imagine ever facing.

Her younger sister (26 years old) committed suicide yesterday morning.

It kind of struck me in the face, obviously as I’d known them growing up, and much more so than just reading about something like that in the paper (about someone you don’t know) and also because I thought about how I would react if that were me, and I lost one (or God forbid, both) of my sisters (I’ve blogged about this before, but my sisters mean the world to me, our bond is special and can never be broken…)

The heartbreak, the sadness, the absolutely crushing feeling of that would be more unbearable than words can describe. My sisters and I all talked about it and told each other that we loved each other and that was just another reminder of how much I cherish and love my sisters more than anything else. Reading my friend’s Facebook status tonight says it all – it’s a beautiful quote, and it couldn’t be more true. My heart and prayers go out to her family…and sisters, I love you more than words can say.

“For there is no friend like a sister, in calm or stormy weather, to cheer one on the tedious way, to fetch one if one goes astray, to lift one if one totters down, to strengthen whilst one stands.”

