Yes, un-coupleds is a word, in my book πŸ˜‰

Well, there is this one restaurant down the street from my house that I absolutely adore – it’s a hole-in-the-wall (sort of) Italian place that Pete and I used to go to quite often, and since we broke up, I haven’t been back.

Why?

It’s sort of one of those places that felt a little “haunted” for me from memories of past and I didn’t really want to go back, alone, with other couples, or even with friends. It just felt different

And, in a way, it’s one of those cute little places that just doesn’t seem “meant” for un-coupleds. I can’t really explain what I mean by that, besides the literal, but for that reason, partially, I haven’t been back. (and damn, they have the best breadsticks and salad, yes, salad, I have ever had. Oh, and did I mention the chicken parm? Chicken takes a whole separate plate, and the pasta is served on a separate plate. um, YUM?!)

So, Pete and I went there tonight.

Together.

We’ve been meaning to do that, go out to dinner together and just catch up, and haven’t due to schedule conflicts and such, and we finally went…in part because we both needed it, in a way, as he’s taking the Nala situation almost (or just about) as hard as I am.

And it was awesome. Natural. Not awkward (a little part of me wondered if it would, even though we get along so well now, but being “out in the public” together, felt like it could lead to awkwardness, but alas, none). We caught up on life…his family, my family, our friends, our jobs. Nala.

And once again, I am so grateful to still have him in my life, as such good friends as we are now. I still go to him when I’m having a problem, or need to vent. He was the second person I called after my mom, after Nala’s vet visit (Jess was in the car with me, and Jen was soon after!). It just felt like the right thing to do.

And, I continue to be amazed at his lack of wanting to dig into my blog. We talked about that too, tonight (when I mentioned that I am going to lunch with INRIS tomorrow – WOOHOO! Can’t wait!!), and I asked if he ever really looked for it and found it.

And he admitted he had found it. But he never read it. He found it and he shut it down.

And I firmly believe he hasn’t.

At this point, I don’t think it would matter so much if he did read it. Don’t get me wrong, I am glad it’s still my fortress, but if he did find it and read it, there is nothing here that I am hiding, or am trying to hide. I’m proud of what I’ve built and frankly, he’d probably be pretty damn proud.

Because I know I am.

And I’m proud of our friendship.

