Happy Quote Friday everyone…and what a week it’s been (again. I feel like I say that a lot lately. I do.).

Last night’s post was sort of cathartic for me, as simplistic as it was, but this quote sums it up for me, basically, and it just really resonates for me, in terms of outlook on life, and moving beyond obstacles and challenges…it just makes you stronger and more resilient, and that is an amazing feeling.

“May you have enough happiness to make you sweet, enough trials to make you strong, enough sorrow to keep you human, enough hope to make you happy.”

If life just went along peachy, and you never face a challenge, or heartache, or suffering, or, conversely, if you never try to challenge yourself, step out of the comfort zone, and do something different, life becomes one-dimensional, in my opinion.

One note.

Flat.

But if you have this balance of happiness, mixed with trials and sadness, and a dash of strength and hope, that is when life really beams, and you become this amazing person that has perspective, happiness, realistic expectations (with a dash of fun/crazy), and gratefulness at what life has to offer, and what you’ve gone through to become happy.

That is what I strive for, and that is why, over the past couple of years, I have learned to embrace the pain and sadness of divorce, to be where I am today. It’s helped shape me into who I am today, and I wouldn’t change it for the world. While the current trial I am going through with Nala is something I would – in all honesty – change, I know that the new-found strength I have now is going to carry me through (along with support from family and friends of course, and faith in God), and that is giving me the hope I need to keep pushing forward.

So I ask you – do you have anything in your life that has been painful, but that you’ve learned from so much that it’s made you more resilient/strong/happy?

I hope everyone has a good weekend. I am looking forward to enjoying some summer weather here in New England before I have to travel (again) out to San Jose on Sunday (through Tuesday). I’m going to enjoy every minutes, give my kitites lots of hugs and kisses and hope for the best.

At the end of the day, that’s all you can hope for, right?

