Happy Quote Friday everyone!! This week started out relatively low, with Nala‘s latest vet visit, but has progressively gotten better, as I’m still riding the high of her weight gain and hoping it continues (she feels heavier and filled out, so maybe she’s gaining again! Still no word on bloodwork though).

Today’s quote is my mindset right now as I am about an hour away from heading up to Maine for a long weekend of much-needed serenity. Maine is my mecca for that, and my family will be there at various points of the weekend as well, and I can’t wait to just spend time with them, and unplug from it all (this goes back to simplicity!). So, today’s quote:

“Serenity is not freedom from the storm, but peace amid the storm.”

I’d be fooling myself if I say that I’m “escaping” the underlying worries in my brain about Nala (aka the “storm” in this quote), but I’m feeling hopeful right now, as she sits curled up in my lap, purring and looking at me lovingly (she may not have the same demeanor in the car for two hours, however!), but I am going to try my best to release myself from the storm of that, and the storm that life generally feels like right now and just enjoy every moment.

Why?

Because Maine…it truly is “the way life should be.”

So, my friends, I will unplug for the weekend, but will be back on Monday or Tuesday, with daily ruminations from the weekend, pictures a’plenty, and hopefully, a refreshed mental focus and one hell of a tan.

I leave you with my definition of serenity…the lake, in all its beautiful glory.

