Today’s quote comes from something T mentioned in a comment to me when I was struggling – something I feel like I’m doing a lot lately – and it feels really fitting after my post yesterday about feeling tired.

“The finest steel has to go through the hottest fire.”

This quote (from John N. Mitchell) speaks to the need to stand strong in the face of struggles, pain, anger, and challenges, because dammit, I AM strong and I AM becoming steel. I know I am.

I feel like I go through these waves of ups and downs emotionally, and sometimes I just need to realize that it’s not going to go away, necessarily (because let’s face it, even in the happiest of times, there’s usually some sort of angst or struggle, big or small, in life), but what can go away is my attitude towards it.

Rather than falter to the struggles and let it overtake me, I need to take a step back – and a deep breathe – and realize how far I have come and that at the end of the day, that is far more important than money issues, or loneliness, or work frustrations. Of course, it’s always easier said than done and when in the thick of it, sometimes it just feels easier, or better, to let it succumb me, and I get a touch of the “poor me” attitude, when there are far worse things in life. Truly.

I’ve been fixating on some things lately, like money, like wanting love, like work struggles, and it’s not healthy.

It doesn’t look good on me.

What does look good on me is a fresh slap of perspective, the joys in the little things, happiness because in the grand scheme of things, life’s pretty damn good and it could always – always – be worse. So, why sweat it?

That’s going to be my new ‘tude, as hard as I can to strive for it. I need to get back to that, and I want to get back to that. I don’t like being unhappy. I don’t like being upset and stressed. I prefer serenity. Let’s channel that, shall we?

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend…I’m looking forward to a long – my longest – run tomorrow morning (perhaps 8-9 miles, we’ll see how far we go!) and I need all the support I can get. Eek!

Cheers, friends.

