I came across an amazing poem and YouTube video this morning via two of my favorite bloggy reads – Quarter for her Thoughts and Quarter Life Lady (and how funny they both start with Quarter? Just realizing that!) – about ‘how to be alone’ and it was so powerful and inspiring to me that I wanted to repost it here and share a few excerpts that leapt out to me:

If you are at first lonely, be patient. If you’ve not been alone much, or if when you were you were not okay with it, then just wait. You’ll find its fine to be alone once you’re embracing it….

Dance like no ones watching because they are probably not. And if they are, assume it is with best human intentions. The way bodies move genuinely move to beats, after-all, is gorgeous and affecting. Dance till you’re sweating. And beads of perspiration remind you of life’s best things. Down your back, like a book of blessings…

Isn’t that so beautiful and so utterly true?

I struggle with being alone sometimes, as many do who have been accustomed to not being alone, and I am at the point where, after almost two years of being alone, I *almost* enjoy it more often than not. This is huge for me…and though I would rather be dancing with someone special…reminding me of ‘life’s best things,’ it’s okay to dance through life alone sometimes, isn’t it?

Give it a read, or watch the video here. You’ll love it, I promise. (and, check out my guest post on ‘is divorce an accomplishment’ over at Sex Lies & Dating in the City – thank you Simone for a wonderful opportunity!!)

