Swoon.

That about sums about my date with Soon-to-Be Doc (let’s shorten that, shall we? SBD has a terrible connotation so I’ll go with Doctor Boy!).

Why was it swoon-worthy?

…he has a touch of chivalry, which I dig. As we walked to our table, I walked first, he lightly touched my back. For some reason, I *love* that. And, he not only told me I looked “great” when we met, when we “cheers’d” over a glass of wine, he then told me “you look amazing, by the way.” *swoon*

…he seems really genuine, nice, and funny. We had a very engaging, laughter-filled, honest conversation that lasted four hours. Naturally. Flowed.

…we share a lot of the same outlooks on life – simplicity, driven, happy, independent…but also looking to share that life with someone special.

…he already seems to dig me as much as I dig him. The dig factor. I can feel it, without a doubt.

All swoon-worthy attributes (and when I say swoon-worthy, I don’t just mean that in a chemistry-related way, though I definitely felt chemistry), I mean it also in a “yes! This is what I have been looking for!” I feel the potential pretty strongly and I can’t honestly remember feeling it quite so soon or so strongly right away.

~~

As for date details – we met at a local restaurant that has a really neat menu (my restaurant choice) that they call southwestern grill, but to me, it feels more fusion, with some Asian-inspiration to it. The atmosphere was great, we shared a bottle of malbec, took our time over dinner, and just talked about our lives, our marriages (he was married for 4 years, but with his ex for 10, like me), dating (similarly, not a ton of success for him either, though he’s been single for a year, while I have for two), vacations (he’s going on a solo trip to Aruba on his birthday – Oct 9, which is three days after mine!), family (he has a brother that’s 10 years older than him) and our jobs.

The conversation never dwindled, and I felt as though I could keep talking all night, but it was getting late. He walked me to my car, gave me a hug and a kiss on the cheek, and told me he’d like to see me again. We loosely discussed getting together this weekend, perhaps, and this morning, we talked about it more, over text, and I will call him tonight. It feels natural, and I have a giddy grin plastered on my face.

Yea, that’s what it’s supposed to feel like. What I’ve been looking for.

