Holy shit.

That was the hardest thing I have ever done IN. MY. LIFE.

No joke.

I actually had a really bad run this morning (of course, the one time it truly counts!) and felt myself hitting a wall as early as THREE miles in…so I knew it was going to be a really tough course, mentally and physically. I ran strong, though, through mile 8 or 9, and then got a really bad side cramp – debilitating level. The kind where you can’t breathe, and every time you breathe in, it feels like stabbling pain.

Um, yea.

Did I mention it was close to 75 when we started and 83 when we finished?!

That didn’t help. At all.

But rather than focus on the negative and while I am dissapointed at my finish (2 hrs 50 mins when I was aiming for 2 hrs 40 mins), I crawled, scratched and forced myself to that finish line, even though there were times when I wanted to sit down and cry. My brother in law Scott’s father (aka my “adopted” in-laws!) met me at mile 11 and walked almost a full mile with me and that truly was one of the biggest things that kept me going. I ran most of the last two miles and when I saw that finish line, I just about crumpled.

But I ran through it and crossed that finish line.

Wow. I’m a half-marathoner.

Wow.

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for all of your support – in-person, here, on Twitter, and on Facebook. You are all amazing. I love you all!

~~

And on another note, please say prayers for my sister Jen. She is back in the hospital today, for a few days, battling an infection from her c-section. My mom wasn’t able to make it to watch us cross (but Mark was, and he took some great pics – see here – and I will post more when I get them!) but I am so very glad she was with her instead. I talked to Jen today, we cried together, and I told her how much I love her and Isabel. Please say a prayer – if you pray – and just keep her in your mind, either way. Thank you.

~~

A few pics from the race…

Pre-race - we look so damn chipper!

Steph and me pre-race - also chipper!

me and Jess post-race - a wee bit tired!

The group post-race - my eyes tell it all!

