As I drove to work this morning, deep in thought about Jen, my upcoming trip to wine country (tomorrow, folks, TOMORROW!!!), and all of the work I have to get done before I leave, the song “September” came on the radio by Daughtry and a few lyrics jumped out at me as the inspiration for my post tonight.

September has brought on so many of the things that I’ve been working so hard for generally and towards my “year of me” like running a half marathon…and possibly being on the road towards love, as well as a few other milestones that have gone past in a blur….

…like moving.

…like becoming an aunt.

…like ending the summer with a bang.

….and standing vigil as my sister endures an unexpected extended hospital stay (extra prayers tonight please as she receives one last procedure to flush out some of the infection) and realizing how very much I love my sisters fiercely.

and up next? Epic wine country vacation extravaganza (and, oh, did I mention? My 31st birthday a week from today!)

! I can’t believe I’m on the cusp of this trip that promises to hold so many memories and firsts (like taking a hot air balloon ride over the vineyards at sunrise as I ring in my 31st year! Hello bucket list item!) with my sister Jess and brother in law Scott and four wonderful friends that are coming with us. It’s going to be amazing, it’s going to be extra special as we soak it all in for Jen and Isabel (who will be receiving pics and video as much as we can!), and truly just let go.

In the words of Daughtry.

“Nothing to lose but everything to gain…it was worth it in the end.”

Goodbye (almost) September…bring on October, the month where (I hope) everything shifts towards the future, the positive, and health and happiness.

Cheers!

