As uttered by one of my closest (and clearly, sagest!) friends after reading my blog.

And she’s beyond right.

Yesterday’s reactions to my post was eye-opening and made me realize how I’ve pretty much lost perspective on a few things that I didn’t even realize I had. So thank you, friends, and bloggy friends, for giving me the dope slap of reality I needed (in the kindest way possible!).

My friend said to me:

There are 4 major things in life, FAMILY/FRIENDS, JOB, LOVE, HEALTH.  You are one of the luckiest people in the world if they can all be perfect at the same time.  It’s like a big circle, if one is good another is not.  You have to just be happy with what is good and hang the hell onto that. So one part of your circle is broken.  Don’t forget about the other 3 parts that are amazing right now.  You are so lucky.  Don’t look for the full circle just enjoy the partial for all its worth!

I read it almost incredulously because if it were me reading that blog post (and incidentally, in my brain these days), I’d likely be uttering something pretty similar. It’s called perspective, stupid, where did yours go?!

And then Sunshine’s comment:

When I was reading your post it occurred to me that you being hard on yourself has nothing to do with how much or how little you’re working out, or how well you’re eating or not eating. Those are just the excuses that you use…I believe that there’s something deeper to it than that. It seems to me like you’re on a road to true and lasting happiness right now, but there’s a part of you that just can’t “let go” and enjoy it for what it is…you have to still harp on yourself for your perceived imperfections. What would happen if you just let go and allowed yourself to be completely and utterly happy and content with yourself, as you are, in this very moment?

I guess a part of me is just so used to being unhappy with something pretty major in my life (but making the most of it in the process, of course) – finding love – that now that I have it (wow, even writing that feels weird, I DO HAVE IT! YES!), it’s like I am looking for something to happen or nitpicking at other areas of my life.

Why?

Why not just “let go” and enjoy it. Respond. React. Embrace. Breathe in. Observe. Enjoy.

So, friends, I’m going to do it. Enough with this. Life is good. Life is great. And as my sister’s blog echoes oh so deeply – I’m amazing just the way I am.

And so are all of you.

 

